District-level elections at various metropolitan, municipal and districts across the country, apart from some in the Ashanti, Eastern and Central regions, took place on Tuesday, with over 66,000 people contesting for assembly and unit committee members to manage the affairs of their various communities.
The District Level Election is to enable eligible voters to elect Assembly Members to represent their electoral areas in the various Metropolitan, Municipal, and District Assemblies, as well as five Unit Committee Members in each electoral area.
According to the Electoral Commission, 17,474 males were billed to contest the elections, representing 94 percent, with 1,106 females, representing six percent. For the Unit Committee Elections, 40,923 male contestants, representing 88 percent, stood to be elected, along with 5,413 female counterparts, representing 11.6 percent.
At Ofankor and Ayawaso Central in the Greater Accra region, the process went on fairly smoothly with no major incidents apart from a low turnout of the electorate.

In the Central Region, elections in five Electoral Areas in the Cape Coast Metropolis and 16 in the Ajumako district were put on hold by the Electoral Commission (EC). This is because some voting materials from the affected areas were not included in the materials supplied.
Mr. Robert Asenso, the Metro EC Director, told the media that the Cape Coast Metro Office of the EC had yet to receive ballot papers for these electoral areas.
In the Eastern region, some members of the electorate expressed disappointment in the rescheduling of the District Level Elections (DLE) to Thursday, December 21.
16 out of the 33 districts in the Eastern Region had their elections on Tuesday, while the remaining 17 will be held on Thursday.
This followed the Electoral Commission’s statement on Tuesday rescheduling voting in some districts in the Ashanti and Eastern Regions to Thursday due to circumstances beyond control.
Some of the affected areas in the Eastern region include New Juaben South municipality, Abuakwa South and North, Akwapem North and South, Atiwa East, Upper and Lower Manya Krobo, Yilo Krobo, Okere, Asene Manso Akroso district, Kwahu South, Afram Plains North and South, and Akyemansa.
The NET2TV News team visited some of the polling stations in some of the affected electoral areas, where some of the Assembly members expressed disappointment with the Electoral Commission.

Recommended for you