Ayew returns for World Cup qualifiers against Madagascar, Comoros

Black Stars captain Andre Dede Ayew has made a return for the upcoming 2026 FIFA World Cup qualifiers against Madagascar and Comoros this month.

The veteran of three World Cup tournaments is currently without a club but has been named by Ghana’s head coach, Chris Hughton, in a 25-man squad to begin camping this weekend for the two matches.

Ghana will host Madagascar on November 17 at the Baba Yara Stadium in Kumasi and then play as guests of Comoros in Moroni four days later.

Ayew was excluded from Ghana’s recent international friendlies against Mexico and the USA as he continued his search for a club. The 33-year-old has been inactive since the end of his short-term contract with the English Premiership side, Nottingham Forest, in June.


Also making a return to the national team are the trio of Denis Odoi, Majeed Ashimeru and Baba Idrissu.

Coach Hughton handed a debut call-up to young defender Abdul Mumin in recognition of his impressive performance this season for Rayo Vallecano in the Spanish La Liga.

Belgium-based midfielder Ashimeru is making his return after being sidelined due to injury. The RSC Anderlecht player made a second-half appearance for the national team in an Africa Cup of Nations qualifier against Angola in Luanda on March 27. He will provide Coach Hughton more options following the absence of midfield enforcer Thomas Partey who has been sidelined with injury.  

Medeama SC duo Jonathan Sowah and Fatawu Hamidu make a return to the national team after featuring in a friendly match against Liberia in Accra on September 12.

They were excluded from the Black Stars’ tour of USA to enable them to feature for the Ghana champions MLS side, DC United, in a friendly match on October 14.

Full Squad:

Goalkeepers: Lawrence Ati Zigi, Joseph Wallacott and Richard Ofori.
Defenders: Alidu Seidu, Dennis Odoi, Gideon Mensah, Abdul Fatawu Hamid, Kasim Adams, Nicholas Opoku, Daniel Amartey and Abdul Mumin. 
Wingers: Osman Bukari, Joseph Painstil, Ernest Nuamah, Jordan Ayew and Kamaldeen Sulemana.
Midfielders: Andre Ayew, Baba Idrissu, Abdul Samed Salis, Edmund Addo, Mohammed Kudus and Andre Ayew.
Forwards: Inaki Williams, Antoine Semenyo and Jonathan Sowah.

Source: Graphic Sports

Recommended for you