Collaborate And Deepen Relations With Other Agencies To Succeed – Transport Minister

The Minister of Transport, Kwaku Ofori Asiamah has called for collaboration between the maritime and shipping agencies in Ghana to make the vision of making Ghana, the beacon of trade in the sub-region a reality.

Kwaku Asiamah gave this clarion call when he inaugurated the governing boards for the Ghana Maritime Authority and the Ghana Shippers Authority at the Ministry of Transport offices in Accra.

Mr. Asiamah remarked that the maritime and shipping sectors are the gateway for international trade and were therefore imperative to reduce transaction costs, facilitate trade, and position Ghana as the hub for the West African sub-region.

The Transport Minister said it is important for govt to put in governance frameworks to provide policy direction to guide management effectively and to align to govt’s programs and projects.

Hon. Kwaku Ofori Asiamah further urged the Board of the Ghana Maritime Authority to work to ensure that Ghana’s maritime domain is protected and safe for industry players.

Kweku Asiamah drew the attention of the boards of the 2 institutions to some key challenges confronting them that needed to be dealt with and called for better collaboration among the various maritime and shipping agencies.

Madam Stella Wilson Agyapong on behalf of the 2 governing boards, thanked the president and the sector ministers for the confidence reposed in them, noting that they have taken note of the concerns of the ministry with keen interest.

She also added that they will take their responsibilities seriously and work on them.
She also entreated her colleague board members to work as a team to effectively guide their respective managements to operate effectively.

The Ghana Shippers Authority governing board has Madam Stella Wilson Agyapong as the Chairperson; and other members include Madam Benonita Bismarck, Madam Victoria Hajar, Mr. Kwabena Adjare Danquah, Dr. Yaw Adu-Agyei Gyamfi, Dr. Kwame Asamoah Adam, Mrs. Lawrencia Awuah, Mr. Abraham Jawol, Mr. Vincent Akomeah, Mr. Patrick Yaw Nimo, Mr. Amin Abdul-Rahaman, Ing. Dr. Michael Adjei Anyetei, Dr. Festus Awuah Kwofie, and Nana Ama Amponsah Ntim.

The Ghana Maritime Authority has Mr. Robert Kutin as chairperson, and the members include Mr. Thomas Alonsi, Madam Susan Kwakye, Madam Margaret Campbell, Madam Irene Messiba, Mr. Michael Arthur Dadzie, Rear Admiral Issah Adam Yakubu, Ing Emmanuel Osafo, Mr. Henry Kokofu, Mr. Michael Luguje, Mr. Edward Ashong, Mr. Arku Kofi and Madam Felicity Ankomah-Sey.

By: Isaac Clottey

Recommended for you