The Electoral Commission (EC) has recommended a rerun of the Yendi Constituency Parliamentary Election of the New Patriotic Party (NPP) due to the inconclusive nature of the initial election.
The EC’s decision to rerun the Yendi Parliamentary Primary aims to rectify the disruption that occurred during the counting process, ultimately ensuring the integrity of the electoral process in the Yendi Constituency.
Two candidates, Honorable Farouk Aliu Mahama and Abibata Shanni Mahama, competed in the election, which saw 785 individuals cast their votes.
According to a statement signed by Mr. Samuel Tettey, due to the disturbance and subsequent inability to declare a winner, the Yendi Constituency Parliamentary Election was deemed inconclusive. He said that in light of this, the Commission has recommended that the election be re-run to ensure a fair and valid outcome.
The parliamentary primaries took place on Saturday, January 27th, 2024, in Yendi and were supervised by the District Electoral Officer and assisted by five other officials of the Electoral Commission.
However, during the counting process, several individuals accused one of the polling assistants of tampering with the ballots using an ink pad in his pocket. As a result, the polling assistant and other election officials were attacked by these individuals, causing the counting process to come to an abrupt halt.
This stalemate led to various agitations by the camps of both aspirants.
The General Secretary of the NPP, Justin Kodua Frimpong, had earlier stressed that the party would wait for reports from the EC and the police before taking the next step.
Meanwhile, in an outstanding primary at the Akuapim South, Eric Apeadu Yeboah was elected by delegates as their new Parliamentary Candidate.
The elections, which were supposed to be held on January 27, 2024, could not come off due to some challenges.
Meanwhile, after going through the vetting, four candidates qualified to contest the seat for the NPP in the constituency.
The newly elected Apeadu Yeboah beat the Municipal Chief Executive, Frank Aidoo, Eric Samuel Annor Mensah, and Kwame Ofori Gyau, aiming to succeed the incumbent member of Parliament, OB Amoah.
Eric Apeadu polled 267, Aidoo had 69, Annor Mensah polled 54, and Kwame Ofori Gyau garnered 152 votes, respectively.
The newly elected Akuapem South Parliamentary Candidate, Apeadu Yeaboa, thanked the delegates for having trust in him, promising to lobby for more development projects for the area
Speaking with NET2TV in an interview, Mr. Eric Apeadu Yeboah, expressed gratitude to all who contributed to his victory.
He called on all NPP supporters to unite and rally behind him to work tirelessly to ‘break the 8’.

Recommended for you