Forest Plantation Development Fund Board inaugurated; Board Members tasked to promote afforestation

The Deputy Minister of Lands and Natural Resources in charge of Forestry, Hon. Benito Owusu-Bio on Tuesday, October 5, 2021 inaugurated the board members of the Forest Plantation Development Fund.

The members include Nana Osei Yaw Berima as chairman, Professor Patrick Kwabila Agbesinyale, Mr Benson Oduro, Hon. Emmanuel Marfo, Mr Andrew Marfo, Mr. Andrew Adjei-Yeboah, and Mr. Alhassan Yakubu Tal as members.

The co-opted members are Alex Oppong, Mr. Abu Jaja Seidu, and Tennyson Agbalanii.

Speaking during the inauguration held at the Conference Room of the Ministry, Hon. Benito Owusu-Bio charged the Board among other functions work to ensure the profitability of the fund.

He explained that over the years, the fund has failed to live up to its expectation of providing financial support for the growth of seedlings and trees and other related matters.

He, therefore, charged members of the board to “manage the Act to promote Forest Plantation Development on the country.”

He stated that the focus of the Ministry is to “embark on a vigorous afforestation drive to restore our lost vegetative cover. The Green Ghana initiative, for example, is one of the key interventions in restoring our degraded landscape.”

The chairman of the committee expressed gratitude to the Hon. Minister, Samuel A. Jinapor and his two deputies for the confidence imposed on them.

He assured the Ministry and the country of their commitment and readiness of the board to deliver on their mandate.

He explained that the effect of climate change being felt in the sub-region, it has become imperative for the country to undertake a vigorous afforestation exercise and save the country from the effects of climate change.

He explained that aside from the planting of trees, other measures which guarantee the protection of our vegetative cover should be adopted.

Story by:Kwaku Stephen

Recommended for you