The New Patriotic Party (NPP), under the direction of it’s presidential candidate, Dr. Mahamudu Bawumia, has constituted a manifesto committee for the 2024 general elections.
The 25-member manifesto committee will design the party’s campaign manifesto document for the 2024 general elections.
Led by Osei Kyei Mensah Bonsu, the outgoing Majority Leader, this committee will play a crucial role in developing a strategic and comprehensive manifesto that tackles Ghana’s pressing socio-economic challenges.
The committee has been mandated to conduct a thorough review of the party’s previous manifestos from the 2016 and 2020 elections. By engaging with a wide range of stakeholders and involving sector ministers, who will serve as advisors, the committee’s goal is to create a forward-looking and pragmatic manifesto that resonates with the needs of the Ghanaian populace.
Composed of distinguished individuals, the committee’s structure includes various positions overseeing different aspects of the manifesto development process. Hon. Osei Kyei Mensah Bonsu will serve as the Chairman, Kojo Oppong Nkrumah as the Vice Chairman, and Evron Hughes as the Secretary. Prof. Kwaku Appiah Adu and Dr. Isaac Owusu Mensah will act as the Manifesto Committee Coordinators.
Additionally, the committee is divided into sub-committees, each chaired by experts in their respective fields.
The list includes former presidential aspirants Kwadwo Nsafoah Poku, who chairs the Energy and Petroleum Committee, and Ing. Kwabena Agyapong, who superintends the Housing and Infrastructure committee.
The former campaign chairman for Hon. Ken Ohene Agyapong, William Oppong-Bio, heads the Agriculture sub-committee.
The rest are Dr. Assibey Yeboah (Economy), Tony Oteng Gyasi (Trade and Industry), Kwadwo Nsafoah Poku (Energy and Petroleum), Dr. Augustine Blay (Communication and Digitalization), Dr. Gideon Boako (Lands, Minerals, and Natural Resources), Dr. Emmanuel Marfo (Science, Technology, Innovation, and Environment), Maxwell Opoku Agyeman (Legal and Governance), Justina Marigold (Local Government), Kwabena Agyapong (Housing and Infrastructure), Hassan Tampuli (Transport), Edward Asomani (Security), and Michael Oquaye Jnr. (Foreign Affairs).
Footballer and Ghana’s all-time leading goal scorer, Asamoah Gyan, chairs the sub-committee on Youth and Sports, Juliet Asante (Tourism, Culture, and Creative Arts), Ama Serwaa (Gender), Kofi Dzamesi (Chieftaincy, Religious Affairs, and Civil Society), Dr. Nana Ayew Afriyie (Health), and Dr. Prince Hamid Armah (Education).

Recommended for you