Ivor Greenstreet Regains CPP Presidential Nod For 2020 Elections

The Convention People’s Party (CPP) has re-elected its 2016 Presidential Candidate, Mr. Ivor Kobina Greenstreet, to lead the Party into the 2020 presidential election.

Mr. Greenstreet, a lawyer, beat two others; Mr. Bright Akwetey and Mr. Divine Ayivor, with 1,364 votes at the Party’s National Congress to become CPP’s 2020 Flagbearer.

Mr. Bright Akwetey and Mr. Divine Ayivor had 597 and 171 votes respectively.

Ivor Kobina Greenstreet’s victory means this is the second time back to back that he has gotten the nod to lead Kwame Nkrumah’s party.

According to the EC statistics, a total valid vote cast across the 16 Regions was 2,006; Rejected votes were 18; bringing the total vote cast 2,034.

Mr. Greenstreet, a Lawyer by Profession, also commended the EC for the way that they have overseen this new way of conducting the elections.

He also thank the Police who played an instrumental part in ensuring the peaceful conduct of the election.

Nana Akosua Frimpomaa Sarpong Kumankuma won the position of the Party’s National Chairman with Mr. Onsy Kwame Nkrumah winning that of Vice Chairman.

Others were, Mr. Osei Kofi Acquah, Youth Organiser, Hajia Ayesha Sulley Futa, Women Organiser, Mr. Moses Yirimambo Ambing, National Organiser and Mr. Emmanuel Opare Addo-National Treasurer.

Nana Yaa Jantua won the position of General Secretary.

Mr.Kwame Anaman, Congress Committee Administrator, told the media that the vote was cast by 2,154 delegates but said, the number of spoilt ballots was not readily available.

The Party decentralised this year’s congress was held at the various regional centres as part of measures to prevent the spread of COVID-19.

In all about 130 delegates drawn from 13 constituencies in the Bono Region were expected to participate in the voting exercise, conducted by the Electoral Commission, in an atmosphere of peace, amidst police presence.

By:Isaac Clottey

Recommended for you