President Nana Addo Danquah Akufo-Addo has vehemently dismissed claims that the New Patriotic Party intends to manipulate the upcoming by-election in the Ejisu constituency of the Ashanti Region.
In his address to voters at NPP’s final rally, the President urged them to reject such allegations by the Independent Parliamentary Candidate, Kwame Owusu Aduomi.
The rally saw in attendance hundreds of NPP faithful, who had thronged the rally grounds to hear leaders of the party speak.
Also present at the grounds were the flagbearer of the NPP, Dr. Mahamudu Bawumia, the Chief of Staff, Akosua Frema Osei Opare, the Chairman of the NPP, Stephen Ntim; the General Secretary, Justin Kodua Frimpong, the National Organiser, Nana Boakye; the Ashanti Regional Chairman of the NPP, the Ashanti Regional Minister, Simon Osei-Mensah; Bernard Antwi-Boasiako, aka Chairman Wontumi; and other leading members of the NPP.
Speaking to the crowd, President Akufo-Addo emphasized that the NPP did not manipulate previous elections to secure Mr. Aduomi’s two-term tenure as Member of Parliament for the Ejisu Constituency on the party’s ticket. The President said he was shocked by Mr. Aduomi’s decision to contest the upcoming by-election as an independent candidate, describing the move as murky.

The President also asked residents of Ejisu to reject claims by Mr. Aduomi that he spearheaded road infrastructure projects in the area, emphasizing that the President was in charge of all road projects across the country.

President Akufo-Addo appealed to the electorate to vote for the party’s candidate, Kwabena Boateng, to enable the NPP to maintain the majority in Parliament.

NPP flagbearer Dr. Mahamudu Bawumia added that a vote for Kwabena Owusu Aduomi is a vote for the National Democratic Congress, as he alleged that his candidacy is being sponsored by the NDC.

Other speakers had similar messages for the Ejisu electorate.

The Ejisu seat became vacant following the death of John Kumah, who died on March 7 this year after a short illness.
The race to replace him in Parliament has since been heated, with six candidates vying for it, three of them being independent candidates. The NDC did not file a candidate for the by-election.
The other independent candidates are Gabriel Agyemang Joseph and Attakorah Joseph, while Esther Osei represents the Convention People’s Party (CPP) and Beatrice Boakye represents the Liberal Party of Ghana (LPG).

Recommended for you