At least 28 incumbent Members of Parliament (MPs) from the ruling New Patriotic Party (NPP) have lost their candidacies in the parliamentary primaries held on Saturday.
The defeat has paved the way for new individuals to lead the party in various constituencies into the 2024 general elections.
Among the incumbents who suffered defeat were Joseph Cudjoe in Effia, Sheila Bartels in Ablekuma North, Sarah Adwoa Safo in Dome-Kwabenya, Jabaan John Benam in Zabzugu constituency, Emmanuel Adjei Anhwere in Atwima Nwabiagya South, and Dr. Adomako Kissi in Anya Sowutuom.
Other incumbents who found themselves out of the race are Elvis Morris Donkoh in Kwaman Kese, Samuel Erickson Abekah in Shama, Mahama Ass Seni in Daboya/Mankarigu, Moses Anim in Tro-bu, and Yves Hanson Nii Noi Nortey in Tema Central, Akwesi Afrifa in Amasaman, and Naa Ayeley Gifty Tina Mensah in Weija-Gbawe, Kwadwo Asante in Suhum, and Emmanuel Akwesi Gyamfi in Odotobri.
Also, Freda Akosua Prempeh in Tano North, Bright Wereko-Brobbey in Heman Lower Denkyira, George Obeng Takyi in Manson Nkwanta, Isaac Kwame Asiamah in Atwima Mponua, Eugene Boakye Antwi in Subin, Collins Ntim in Offinso North, and Ama Pomaa Boateng, the Deputy Communications Minister, in Juaben.
However, some incumbents managed to retain their candidacies, including KT Hammond, Kojo Oppong Nkrumah, Ambrose Dery, and Sly Tetteh.
The losses mark a significant shift within the NPP as new faces emerge to vie for parliamentary seats.
From the Eastern Region, Scholarship Secretariat boss Dr. Kingsley Agyemang pulled through in the elections at Abuakwa South, with 569 votes, defeating Gloria Ofori, who polled 29 votes.
He addressed the party’s faithful and the media at Asiakwa after being declared the winner.

In the Fanteakwa North constituency, the sitting MP, Kwabena Amankwah Asiamah, who garnered 137 votes, lost to the Eastern Regional Director of NADMO, Kwame Appiah Kodua, who polled 329 votes. A third candidate, Barbebra Macara Maccugen, placed second with 208 votes.
The victor, Kwame Appiah Kodua, expressed gratitude for the support received from party members and pledged to work diligently to address the concerns of the people of Fanteakwa North.

Incumbent Member of Parliament for Abuakwa North, Gifty Twum-Ampofo, also lost her bid to once again represent the constituency.
She polled 202 votes, while Nana Ampaw Addo-Frempong, popularly known as Buffalo, polled 222 votes to win the parliamentary primary.
Palgrave Boakye Danquah polled 76 votes, while Nana Kwame Mamfe had four votes.
Addressing delegates, Nana Ampaw Addo-Frempong called for unity, commitment and hard work to break the 8 and retain the seat for the NPP.

At New Juaben North, Nana Osei Adjei caused a massive upset when he defeated Eastern Regional Minister Seth Kwame Acheampong to become the NPP’s parliamentary candidate.
Nana Osei Adjei won with 253 votes, while Seth Kwame Acheampong secured 183 votes. Joseph Osei Djaba had 47 votes, Sampson Kwesi Annor had 2 votes and Philp Twum-Yeboah had 3 votes.

From the Ashanti Region, KT Hammond retained his candidature for the NPP in the Adansi Asokwa constituency.
The Trade and Industry Minister beat Samuel Binfoh Darkwa with 311 votes, while Mr. Binfoh Darkwa polled 125 votes.

Recommended for you