There were a few shocks and surprises over the weekend as some ‘big names’ within the governing New Patriotic Party (NPP) lost the contest for parliament when the party went to the polls to elect parliamentary candidates for the 2024 general elections.
The NPP on Saturday elected parliamentary candidates in constituencies where the party has no members of parliament (MP), also referred to as orphan constituencies.
The elections took place in 111 constituencies across the 16 regions, with 321 aspirants vying for a single slot in the constituencies where the elections were held.
The Greater Accra Region had 52 aspirants contesting in 17 constituencies, the highest in the elections.
Ashaiman, Justice King Essiel, 849 (winner), Shai Osudoku results
Benjamin Nagne: 283 (winner); Ledzokuku results Dr. Benard Okoe Boye, 901 (winner), with presidential staffer Ibrahim Sowa Adjei the biggest casualty Ablekuma Central results: former MP Ebenezer Gilbert Nii Narh Nartey was among those defeated by Jefferson Kwamina Sackey, 539 (winner), Deputy Director of Communications at the Presidency. Ablekuma South results: Samuel Lartey, 559 (winner). Kpone Katamanso results: Samuel Okoe Amanquah (MCE) lost to William Ofosu Asante (709), and at Adentan, Akosua Manu (Dep CEO NYA) won (809).
The former minister of fisheries and aquaculture development, Elizabeth Afoley Quaye, lost her bid to retain the Krowor parliamentary slot after being dethroned by Ing. Emmanuel Odai Laryea.
Okaikoi North results in a deputy trade minister and MP for Akuapem North, Nana Ama Dokua, 341 (winner). At Klottey Korle, Nii Noi Nortey, 838 (winner)
In the Central Region, at Komenda-Edina-Eguafo-Abirem, Percy Dennis (429), Cape Coast South, Ernest Arthur (290), Cape Coast North, and Horace Ekow Ewusi (348), among others, defeated Barbara Asher Ayisi to win. At Agona East, Hannah Asamoah, 396; Director of Communications at the Presidency, Eugene Arhin, won the Awutu Senya West primary, 862 (winner)
Twenty-five aspirants were vying for the slots in six constituencies in the Bono Region. At Banda, Joe Dankwa won with 131 votes (Winner), Jaman South, Col. Kwadwo Damoah won with 289 votes (Winner), Wenchi results: former broadcaster Kojo Frempon won with 361 votes, and at Tain, Alexander Ababio won with 455 votes.
At Asawasi in the Ashanti region, Manaf Ibrahim was declared the winner with 765 votes. For the Upper East Region, at the Navrongo Central results, Abdallah Otito Achuliwor scored 375 (winner), while at the Tempane results, former MP and former Deputy Attorney-General Joseph Dindiok Kpemka scored 292 (winner).
Nineteen aspirants slugged it out in six constituencies in the Eastern Region and from Akwatia, Ernest Kumi (winner) defeated former MP Mercy Adu Gyamfi, a.k.a. Ama Sey, to claim victory. Asuogyaman results: Pius Enam Hadzide, 423 (winner) and at Ayensuano results, former MP Samuel Ayeh Paye, deputy minister for tourism arts and Okraku Mantey were beaten by Ida Adjoa Asiedu, 410 (winner).
In the Western Region, 973 delegates voted for Barbara Oteng Gyasi to represent the party in the Prestea Huni Valley constituency. She defeated Theophilus Tawiah, who managed to cast 255 valid votes.

PHOTO: Citinewsroom.

Recommended for you