Parliament has approved the reconstituted membership of the Appointments Committee to ensure the smooth running of the House.
The report of the Committee of Selection was approved by Article 103 of the 1992 Constitution and Order 204 (2) of the revised Standing Orders of the House.
Under Order 205 of the revised Standing Orders of the House, the Committee met and composed the Appointment Committee by Orders 216 and 217, respectively.
Mr. Joseph Osei-Owusu, First Deputy Speaker and Member of Parliament (MP) for Bekwai, chairs the nine-member Appointments Committee, and the Vice Chair is Mr. Afenyo-Markin, who is also Deputy Majority Leader.
Other members on the majority side included Frank Annor-Dompreh, Majority Chief Whip; Samuel Attah-Akyea, MP for Abuakwa South; and Gifty Twum-Ampofo, MP for Abuakwa North.
Dr. Cassiel Ato Baah Forson, the ranking member, leads the minority side, which includes Emmanuel Armah-Kofi Buah, Deputy Minority Leader; Kwame Governs Agbodza, Minority Whip; and Elizabeth Ofosu-Agyare, MP for Techiman North.
The Committee, in its deliberations, was guided by the formula adopted by the House on Friday, January 15, 2021, for the composition of the membership of committees.
The Committee was also guided by Article 103(5) of the 1992 Constitution and Order 209 of the Standing Orders of the House, which required that the composition of the Committees reflect, as much as possible, the different shades of opinion in Parliament.
The new committee will, in the coming days, administer the vetting of the nominated persons for ministerial and deputy ministerial positions, named in the recent reshuffle announced by President Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo a week ago.

Recommended for you