Transition Team Begin Work After Inauguration On Wednesday

The Chairperson of the presidential transition team, Madam Akosua Frema Osei-Opare says the 2020 election has won universal acclamation as the best polls conducted so far in Ghana’s history.

She made these comments when the 15-member transition team constituted by President-elect Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo following his re-election to serve a second term, was inaugurated at a brief ceremony at the Accra International Conference Centre in Accra.

At a short event on Wednesday, Administrator General, Alhaji Yakubu Atsulor, officially handed the reports from ministries and regional coordinating councils to the Chairperson of the 2020 transition team, Akosua Frema Osei-Opare.

The Presidential (Transition) Act, 2012, (Act 845), regulates the political transfer of power and for related matters.

For an incumbent President, the law states that if re-elected for a second term, he or she “shall designate members of the Transition Team.”

Last Thursday the President-elect, Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo appointed a 15-member transition team following his re-election.

The exercise is in accordance with the Presidential (Transition) Act, 2012, (Act 845), Section 1(3) which states that incumbent President who is re-elected for a second term, “shall designate members of the Transition Team.”

Addressing the press at the maiden meeting, Frema Osei Opare said the inauguration ceremony “represents the start of the formal working meeting of the transition to set agenda and pursue task assigned to them.

She added that the team will form sub committees in compliance with the transition act.

The Chief of Staff added that the team will submit their report to the president on the eve of his swearing in as the president-elect.

Administrator General, Alhaji Yakubu Atsulor for his part said the handing over notes are expected to facilitate the work of the 15-member team in ensuring a smooth transition of power.

The Deputy Minister of Information Hon Pius Enam Hadzide for his part, assured Ghanaians the 15 member transitional team appointed by the President will do a diligent job as the for a seamless transition to a second term which will do more for Ghanaians.

Recommended for you